Poetry and Angels

Today Greg read another of his very beautiful poems.  I am always touched by how he opens his soul to us.  He reads with a sincerity and honesty that few actors and spoken word artists can easily replicate.  I love hearing his gentle voice command the attention and respect of everyone in the room.   He gives us these poems as generously as his smile, which are brimming with love.  His smile is so confident that it feels like he has hundreds of them in his pocket.

At the end of a Kairos session, I asked him if I might please read his poem. He said of course, and handed me a folder with several more inside.  He smiled and said I could take them home for the week.  As a sat next to him, I could not help but open the folder and glance at the papers inside.  At the bottom of one, I discovered a few lines which were titled “2:00 AM.”   The poem read:  “When everybody is trying to sleep, my angels are out helping me make my midnight creep.”  I asked Greg, “did you write this at 2:00 in the morning?” “Yes,” he said.  “I get up every morning around 2:00AM, latest 3:00AM because that’s the time when the angels are out and when they come to me.  My three special angels are Faith, Hope and Love, but because I also have hundreds of others, I’m going to give some to you.  And then, like his smile, he gave me one.

Nicholas

About KAIROS ALIVE!
The mission of Kairos Dance Theatre is to transform and revitalize individuals and communities. We work with older adults in intergenerational settings to liberate the healing power of interactive dance and story. We achieve our mission by engaging the skills of professional teaching artists.

Leave a Reply

