What Makes Your Heart Dance?

Today I sent an email asking people the question “what makes your heart dance”? I included this photo and story about a gentleman who worked for months to be able to stand and dance with his wife.

I promised we’d post the responses on our blog and here is our first batch.

Smiling faces even with wheelchair dancing, especially when you are almost 100. And a certain 103 yr old was on the dance floor all night going strong at our dance last Friday having a great time. – Babs

What makes my heart dance is being a Kairos Dancing Heart volunteer.  Seeing the participants so full of enthusiasm and excitement when we walk in – they are so eager to join in the fun of dance and storytelling. We see the laughter in their eyes and we share the love in our hearts.  I’ve been away from the Dancing Heart for a while recovering from surgery and I have missed all the wonderful people – participants, staff, volunteers – connected with Kairos Dance Theatre.  I hope to be back with the Dancing Heart program soon and feel my heart dance again!! – Faith

I’d say – knowing that I get to spend time with my adult children, they’re the most important thing to me! Also getting to stay in touch with my dad who lives in California and has moderate dementia, I cherish those phone calls where he still knows me and can give me encouraging words like he always has. – Laurie

Please join our ever growing list and share your comments! We’ll keep the Valentine’s love flowing this week.

About KAIROS ALIVE!
The mission of Kairos Dance Theatre is to transform and revitalize individuals and communities. We work with older adults in intergenerational settings to liberate the healing power of interactive dance and story. We achieve our mission by engaging the skills of professional teaching artists.

Leave a Reply

